national poetry month / Poems / Poems about Addiction / Poems about Bars / Poetry / Sonnets / Uncategorized

NaPoMo Day 29

day 29 cinnamon

photo © polly macdavid

 

(hair of the dog)

 

the hair of the dog that bit me was

amber-colored & honey hued.  a most

beautiful dog.  a golden retriever.

one of my favorite dogs.  he was a

real friendly dog.  wagged his tail & licked my

hand.  he licked my hand until he bit me.

sunk his teeth right into me.  drew blood too.

i was happy just to get out of there

alive & in one piece.  who knew that golden

retrievers were so dangerous?  who knew

that they could make a person so very

sick?  where he bit me has festered.  the wound

is oozing pus & is now painful to touch.

© polly macdavid

 

 

One thought on “NaPoMo Day 29

  1. Pingback: NaPoMo Day 29 – silverapplequeen

Leave a Reply

