Lyrics / national poetry month / Poems / Poetry / Uncategorized

NaPoMo Day 7

Something a little different today … a lyric I wrote in late 1979 & worked on throughout the 80’s.  Recently I gave it to my good friend Charlie Reed, in hopes that he would write a melody to it & I would at last be able to sing it but I have not heard anything from him.  Perhaps it is meant to remain a rhyming poem.

polly closeupme at age 23, at Sherkston Beach, Ontario, Canada, with my bottle of Old Grand Dad.

 

(please don’t go)

 

you keep me coming – you keep me going

you’re as predictable as a wind that’s blowing

i never know if you’re mine or if you’re free

oh why must you do this to me

 

i know you don’t believe a word i say

i only lied because i didn’t know what role to play

you say you don’t like the way i get treated by men

then you say you can’t handle it again

 

listen to me – i’m trying

i want you – i’m crying

i’m willing to change – i’m not lying

but looking at your face i know

you’re not buying it anymore

 

maybe the problem is that this relationship has never been defined

so when you talk of making changes i never know what kind

when i make mistakes you call me stupid & naïve

& you want to ride yourself of all responsibility

 

listen to me – i’m trying

i want you – i’m crying

i’m willing to change – i’m not lying

but looking at your face i know

you’re not buying it anymore

 

 

© polly macdavid

 

One thought on “NaPoMo Day 7

  1. Pingback: NaPoMo Day 7 – silverapplequeen

Leave a Reply

