Uncategorized

day two of national poetry month writing challenge

day two of national poetry month.  this is one of the sonnets i wrote when i first started writing sonnets all the time, in the summer of 2009.  it’s one of my personal favorites.  

(billy) 

 

10 years down the road, i do still love you.

i hate you as much as i can do love.

you question me if my love is really true –

there is no such thing.  the broad sky above,

the firm ground below our feet all attest

to the mighty depth of my strong feelings

for you – love, hate, or rank indifference.

whatever you do, you get me reeling.

i should’ve known the first time you hit me.

but love has a nasty way of making

us forgive unforgiveable acts, see.

see, my heart, my heart never stops aching.

10 years down the road, i do still love you.

but it’s a dead love.  & i’m through, i’m through.

 

 

Leave a Reply

